top of page
  • corasimina

The Elendil Poems

1. Musings from the western shores


ENCOUNTER AT SEA



I turned my back on the past. But when the past was placed in my path

I reached out my hand towards it.

I did it out of duty; out of love; out of hope.

Because I dreamt of times long gone

And saw this land as our ancestors wanted it to be –

The old alliances still in place;

The old values still strong

In our hearts.

I turned my back on the past. But when the sea brought the past back to me

I reached out my hand towards it.

Out of duty; out of hope.

Because I had a vision

Of a land my children could be proud of

And their children in turn.


I turned my back on the past. But when the past sought me

I reached out my hand towards it

Because of a dream. And a wish –

A wish stronger than all others.

I wished for a chance to serve those I was meant to serve.

To show I was still true to the ways of old –

And to deny my name no longer.



FALLING PETALS



What have we done?

I now see ourselves

As the gods must see us. Arrogant,

Complacent, egotistical - unlike

Who we used to be in days of old.


We have forgotten -

In our bloated self-importance, we have forgotten

That the world belongs to more than just us.

We have built walls around us, closed up both East and West from us.

We thought we could be masters of our little kingdom

And forget those we’ve left behind

And those we once promised to serve

And those who made us who we are today.

We were wrong.


What have we done?

The gods are weeping: for our sins,

For our presumptuousness, for all we’ve turned our backs on.

We were wrong.


We are at a crossroads now.

The turning point has come for us

Two paths now stand before us:

The road of our self-determination or the road fated for us,

The summons of our greed or the calling of our honor,

The easy way or the way of sacrifice and battle.


We are at a crossroads now –

A time of choices.

And I have made mine.

I choose to honor debts once owed,

And vows once taken, promises once made.

I will serve.


SEA VOYAGE AT DAYBREAK



I feel the sea beneath my feet. It tells me I have been away too long.

It welcomes me, my solace, my best friend,

My greatest comforter and my cruelest tormentor –

She took from me more than I was willing

To ever give her. Yet I love her

And welcome the familiar feel of her.

Guide us well today, o watery path,

Look kindly on thy sons and daughters

Who sail today to seek their honor

In thy name.


I feel the sea beneath my feet, and the wind blowing behind me,

The Western Wind, carrying us onward:

Fate favors our journey

And our endeavor.

The powers of this world will watch over us

And lead us to victory, not to defeat.

They will watch over us and remember

That when we were summoned, we answered the call.


I feel the sea beneath my feet, carrying us onward,

Forever onward towards the rising sun,

Towards our new beginning.


I feel the sea beneath my feet and wonder

How will it feel on our journey home?

Will we return in triumph, singing songs

Of glory and of hope and light?

Or will there be silence on our windswept ships

And blackness in our hearts?


I feel the sea beneath my feet and the western wind behind me.

Look kindly on thy sons and daughters, I beg them,

Lead us towards a new light, grant us our victory

And do not abandon us on those foreign shores.

Look kindly on thy sons and daughters

Now entrusted in my care.

May they all live to see the homeward journey

Singing songs of triumph and brave deeds

Done in thy names on foreign shores.


FATHER TO SON



I look into your eyes and see myself,

And your mother, and all those

That came before us.

But now I see you also:

I see the child you were and the man you will one day become,

I see who you are and who I wanted you to be,

And I realize now it was wrong of me

To make you choose

Between the two.

I see you now and understand you better:

Your fire, your discontent,

Your restlessness.


I look into your eyes and see who you are,

And it pierces my heart,

And it fills me with pride

And sorrow for the times we’ve lost

And the days when I did not understand.


I look into your eyes and see my past

And my future – and the future of our land:

They all live in you,

My firstborn.


I look into your eyes and see all your doubts,

And all your hopes,

And all your heartaches. And I wish

I could erase the sorrows of the past.


I look into your eyes and see the two of us,

Side by side after our victory,

After our battle on a foreign shore,

And if I am given nothing else in life, then at least I have this:

You and I victorious, in the light of the setting sun,

Reaching out for each other on a foreign shore.


I look into your eyes, my restless firstborn,

And for the first time in so long

I think that I am finally content.


-Untitled-

It ends in fire. It ends in darkness

And despair.

Some lose their homes. I lose my world.

There will be no moon in my sky tonight -

Or any other night hereafter…

…And my soul is torn to pieces…


THE HOMECOMING


We return not in triumph but in sorrow

To find our island all in mourning too -

Death was behind us and is now ahead,

Greeting us with its crooked smile,

A reminder of a doom

Our kind cannot escape.


We return not in triumph, but in sorrow.

We’ve left our pride behind on foreign shores,

Buried beneath the burnt-out ruins

With our dead,

The toll we’ve paid against our will.


We return not in triumph but in sorrow

Back to a world we can no longer recognize

That might no longer recognize us either,

We who have seen the darkness and the fire

And do not know why we escaped, why we were spared

When others weren’t.


We return not in triumph but in sorrow,

Broken survivors carrying our losses

Like heavy curses that hang around our necks.

The dead we’ve left behind will follow us forever,

Dogging our footsteps as we try

To carry on when all the world around us

Has lost its purpose and its meaning.


I return not in triumph but in sorrow,

A sorrow that cannot be put in words,

A sorrow deeper than the sea beneath my feet

That drowns my soul and takes away my breath,

And I look back at my choices and dreams

And all the hopes that led me on this path

Across the sea and to a foreign shore,

To witness the unmaking of a land

And the undoing of my soul.


I return not in triumph but in sorrow

And yet, I know now who I am,

Who I must be for those that I have lost

And those still in my care. I vow

To build the world my children would deserve

To make the ones no longer with me proud

To stay true to the path laid out before me,

And to deny my name no longer.


I return not in triumph but in sorrow.

Copyright Simina Lungu 2023

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page